Out of the 92 books that found their way into my hands last year, there were a number of books that managed to find a special place in my heart. Here are my top ten reads for the year 2016:

1. Winter by Marissa Meyer    
The amazing finale of the Lunar Chronicles, Meyer’s series of fairytale retellings beginning with Cinderella and ending with Snow White, Winter tells a thoroughly engaging story that will keep readers on their feet through all four books. The depth with which I love Meyer’s characters and storytelling is immeasurable and of anything I would suggest this book series to every single person I’ve ever met.

2. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski    
A beautifully written, captivating love story filled with politics and an intriguing degree of trials to face. This is legitimately one of the best love stories I have read in my entire life, the characters are so amazingly and fascinatingly developed, and the plot itself will leave readers thoroughly impressed. I have nothing but praise for Rutkoski’s impressive narrative works.

3. The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski
The second novel in Rutkoski’s Winner’s trilogy, just as striking and impressive as the first. It leaves readers on the edge of their seats, desperate to find out more. One remains in love with the characters and feels for their plights. Heartbreaking and beautiful, the utter realism and amazing depth in the plot will forever keep this novel at the top of my favorites list.

4. The Winner’s Kiss
The final novel in Rutkoski’s Winner’s triology brings readers both more heartbreak and happiness. Ultimately, I could never have asked for a better ending. The Winner’s Kiss deserves every ounce of praise it receives.

5. Heartless by Marissa Meyer
I have an incredible soft spot for Marissa Meyer’s ever impressive writing. She is brilliant at world building, character development, and plots. I was weary of reading another Alice in Wonderland related book, as I’ve never really been a fan of those, but this went above and beyond my expectations and impressions. Once again I find myself in awe of Meyer and her skills.

6. Me Before You by JoJo Moyes
The story of the year, Me Before You broke many hearts long before it even hit theaters. A tale about love and accepting the importance of allowing people what they feel they need rather than forcing them into existences they have determined for themselves is more harmful, Me Before You touches on the harsh subjects of life and death and how much control a person in pain should be allowed over their decisions. I’ve loved Me Before You from the beginning and I have a deep respect for Moyes and her show of deep respect for people’s choices.

7. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
I originally thought this was a Zombie story. Going into it, I expected to be unimpressed. Instead, I found myself thoroughly enjoying the whole book. The characters and the ways in which they connected were incredibly impressive. The story itself was wonderfully told and amazing. I eagerly devoured this book.

8. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
This was an odd story to get into at first. I didn’t know how to feel about it and there were admittedly times where the writing seemed somewhat supurfluious. Those aspects aside, however, Bracken’s novel was one with a brilliant story. I loved her characters, loved her plot, and found a number of quotes I couldn’t help underlining. A further review on this will come as I am re-reading it now with the arrival of its long awaited sequel.

9. You by Caroline Kepnes
Intriguing and dark, Kepnes provides a thoroughly fascinating account of a deeply disturbed man who’d developed an incredibly strong infatuation with a girl he barely knew. This novel truly does give an interesting account of the thoughts of a stalker and my reading of Kepnes very well developed character, I found myself both disgusted and enthralled through the whole thing. It’s definitely a book worth reading.

10. My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares
This book was nothing short of amazing…right up until the end. I loved so much about this book and the story. The characters threw me off a bit at first, but once it got going and the past portions mixed with the present portions a bit more I instantly fell in love. I finished this book in one day, and were it not for the fact that there was and never will be a sequel, I would have put this much higher on my list of loved books. You know those endings that feel like cliffhangers and you just need the rest of the story? This was like that. Only there’s nothing more to the story. And for that, I think, I will always be a little bitter.

Leave a Reply

