41m4nnbzrtl

(by Julia Crane)

Now just look at that cover. It’s not any wonder, I think, that I was drawn to this book. With my love and forever repeated praise of Cinder by Marissa Meyer, naturally a book like this would draw me in. Even the synopsys, detailing a girl who’d given her body to science and was now meant to be more robot than human and how she deals with the emotions she knows she is not supposed to have was incredibly intriguing.

In the past, I have made no secret of my absolute hatred and disgust of the novel Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James. I’ve described it as a pathetic piece of writing with utterly abhorrent, unrealistic, and useless (not to mention one abusive) characters, an incredibly disturbing and stupid plot that made absolutely no sense and honestly shames the world of literature. I never in my life believed I would ever read anything worse, at least in terms of literary merit.

Then again, at least Crane’s book had a decent editor and a sincere lack of grammatical errors.

And yet, here I am, with this book by Julia Crane and I find myself utterly astounded at how awful it was from the very beginning. To be quite honest, I’m not even sure where to begin. Is it the downward spiral of any potential the book had of having an interesting plot? Is it the potential the author flippantly threw away without a second thought? Is it the absolute pathetic nature of the main love interest, Lucas? Or how about the disturbing lack of feeling for anything other than an insane lust vomiting itself disgustingly all over any possible personality the author could have given her main character, Kaitlyn.

Now, I understand that the main character is supposed to have had her emotions programmed out of her, but the author took the most idiotic route in her decision to give her character feelings. The desire to search for her past is wholly expressed by Kaitlyn’s friend, Quess, not Kaitlyn herself.

Crane doesn’t even bother to input her main character with any true empty feelings–regarding her missing life–or any genuine desire to learn about what was stolen from her. Anything Kaitlyn feels in that aspect was wholly fabricated by her interactions with Quess. And, really, I might have been able to take this story a little more seriously and perhaps even respected it a bit if that hadn’t been the case and Kaitlyn actually did have some sort of emotion in that department.

But, instead, the author goes out of her way to state that Kaitlyn doesn’t have those feelings, explicitly mentioning that she had a notion in the back of her mind that she should hate Professor Adams and the man in charge for taking away her feelings, but that she actually had no ability to feel anything toward them at all. So then all we’re left with is her ridiculous fawning over Lucas? It’s an absolute insult. If I wanted to read sub-par love stories, I’d dabble in poorly written romance novels or sup-par fanfiction, not a book that was supposed to have an actual plot.

Seriously. What is this?

Author Julia Crane had no interest in writing a novel with any real plot or meaning, but instead was too preoccupied with her unrealistic love expectations to bother. She utterly trashed a brilliant idea with insane amounts of potential to have her silly fantasy of extremely impossible ideas of human characteristics. Her characters are dull, and static. They have no real depth to them. They are driven by lust portrayed as love.

I don’t think anything could have saved this book after the disaster her characters turned out to be. In the end, if you find yourself thinking you want to read this book, I can only say, don’t even bother–I can’t believe I did.

It’s no wonder Crane’s kindle version of the book was offered for free on amazon. It’s too disastrous to waste money on.

*Would not recommend.
*Disastrous read.
*Ugh characters.
*Bad characters=bad book.
*Wasted potential.
*Maybe try again, Julia.
*0.5/5

Leave a Reply

